Kid Zone
HomeParents & EducatorsGlendale LibraryLibrary CatalogCity of Glendale
Fun & Games

What's Happening
Reading Room

Homework Help
Talk to Us
 

Books and Authors – Older kids (4rd-6th grade)

Back to Fun and Games
Back to KidZone

Author Yellow Pages -- http://www.authoryellowpages.com/ -- This is a searchable directory of authors' websites, as well as websites that may somehow be related to the author. Most of the authors mentioned here are HarperCollins authors.

McBookwords: Authors and Illustrators on the Web -- http://www.mcelmeel.com/curriculum/authorlinks.html -- This is a collection of websites of a variety of authors and illustrators. The websites are in alphabetical order, by the author/illustrator's last name.

Avi -- http://www.avi-writer.com/ -- The award-winning author of Poppy , Crispin Cross of Lead , and many more novels.

Judy Blume – www.judyblume.com -- Author of novels including Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing and Are You There, God? It's Me, Margaret .

Eion Colfer -- http://homepage.eircom.net/~eoincolfer65/ -- The homepage for the author of Artemis Fowl. Includes a frequently asked questions section and codes for all of the Artemis Fowl books!

Beverly Cleary -- http://www.beverlycleary.com/index.html -- A fun site from the creator of Ramona, Henry, Ralph and Socks.

Christopher Paul Curtis -- http://www.randomhouse.com/author/results.pperl?authorid=6203 – A biography of the author of Bud, Not Buddy and The Watsons Go to Birmingham.

Roald Dahl – www.roaldrahl.com – Author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory , The Witches , James and the Giant Peach , and many, many more…

Dinotopia – www.dinotopia.com – The online home of the Dinotopia series, including information on the authors and artists.

Tony DiTerlizzi -- http://www.spiderwick.com/ -- Maps, downloads and loads of information from the author of the Spiderwick Chronicles.

Jean Craighead George - http://www.jeancraigheadgeorge.com/ -- The author of Julie of the Wolves , and My Side of the Mountain .

Brian Jacques – for information about the Redwall series, click on www.redwall.com , for information about the author, go to http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-jacques-brian.asp .

Diana Wynne Jones -- http://www.dianawynnejones.com/dwjflash.htm -- Info about the author of the Chestomanci, Dalemark and many other fantasy books can be found here. For more information, try the official fansite at http://www.leemac.freeserve.co.uk/ .

E.L. Konigsburg -- http://tinyurl.com/4kk9c -- A biography, interview and book list from the author of The View from Saturday and The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

Madeleine L'Engle – Her official site is here at http://www.madeleinelengle.com/ , but there's also lots of good information at http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Acropolis/8838/

C.S. Lewis – The world of Narnia can be explored at www.narnia.com , but for information about the author, check out http://cslewis.drzeus.net/ .

Lois Lowry -- http://www.loislowry.com/ -- The official website of the author of The Giver, Number the Stars, and many more books.

Back to Fun and Games

Lucy Maud Montgomery – Go here http://www.online-literature.com/lucy_montgomery/ for a biography of the author of Emily of New Moon and Anne of Green Gables . To find out more about Avonlea, try this site: http://www.geocities.com/cyberanne/ .

Mary Pope Osborne – The official site of the Magic Tree House series is here at http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/magictreehouse/ . To find out more about the author, visit her website at http://www.marypopeosborne.com/ .

Katherine Patterson -- http://www.terabithia.com/ -- Author of Bridge to Terabithia, Jacob Have I Loved and many other books.

Gary Paulsen -- http://www.randomhouse.com/features/garypaulsen/newadventures.html -- A website for the author of Hatchet, and many other adventure books. Check out the “New Adventures:” section to see pictures of his exciting activities.

Dav Pilkey – www.pilkey.com – Fans of Capt. Underpants, Super Diaper Baby and Ricky Ricotta won't want to miss this Extra Crunchy Website O'Fun!

J.K. Rowling – For information on the author, try http://www.jkrowling.com/en/ , for cool Harry Potter stuff, try http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp .

Louis Sachar – www.louissachar.com – A biography and book list for the author of Holes, and Marvin Redpost. For some fun stuff, try the Wayside School trivia game at http://www.kidsreads.com/funstuff/trivia/wayside-triv1.asp .

Darren Shan – www.darrenshan.com – Shanville, which features message boards, a gallery of fan art and a “Shanography” for readers of the Cirque du Freak books.

Lemony Snicket – www.lemonysnicket.com – You should turn your computer off rather than view any of the dreadful images, read any of the wretched information, play any of the unnerving games or examine the unpleasant books presented within this website.

Jerry Spinelli -- http://www.jerryspinelli.com/newbery_002.htm -- A fun site from the author of Maniac Magee, Stargirl and many, many more books.

R.L. Stine – For Goosebumps online, go to http://www.scholastic.com/goosebumps/ for lots of goodies, including a complete list of all the Goosebumps books. Looking for information about R.L. Stine's new series, The Nightmare Room? Try this site, http://www.thenightmareroom.com/ . For a biography of the author, go to http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-stine-rl.asp .

Back to Fun and Games

 

 
 


© 2003 Glendale Public Library, all rights reserved.