Kid Zone
HomeParents & EducatorsGlendale LibraryLibrary CatalogCity of Glendale
Fun & Games

What's Happening
Reading Room

Homework Help
Talk to Us
 

Books and Authors – Younger kids (Preschool -3nd grade)

= This site has activities for younger children.

Back to Fun and Games
Back to KidZone

 

TumbleBooks Online
Click the the image above or click HERE for online, narrated, animated childrens stories!

Author Yellow Pages -- http://www.authoryellowpages.com/ -- This is a searchable directory of authors' websites, as well as websites that may somehow be related to the author. Most of the authors mentioned here are HarperCollins authors.

McBookwords: Authors and Illustrators on the Web -- http://www.mcelmeel.com/curriculum/authorlinks.html -- This is a collection of websites of a variety of authors and illustrators. The websites are in alphabetical order, by the author/illustrator's last name.

The Berenstein Bears -- http://www.berenstainbears.com / -- The online home of the Berenstein Bears features activities, stories and information about the authors.

Paulette Bourgeois -- http://www.franklin.ecsd.net/author_paulette_bourgeois.htm place to visit to find information about this author. To play with Franklin, try http://www.franklintheturtle.com/

Marc Brown - For information on the author click on http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-brown-marc.asp . To visit Arthur online try http://pbskids.org/arthur/ .

Jan Brett - www.janbrett.com -- 2,806 pages of free activities, coloring pages, and projects from the author of The Mitten, Annie and the Wild Animals, and dozens more books.

Eric Carle - www.eric-carle.com - Website with info about the author/illustrator, a list of upcoming events/publications, and a message board.

Joanna Cole - For lots of Magic School Bus fun, try the Scholastic site at http://www.scholastic.com/magicschoolbus/home_2.htm . For information about Joanna Cole, try http://www2.scholastic.com/teachers/authorsandbooks/authorstudies/authorhome.jhtml?authorID=20&collateralID=5125&displayName=Biography

Tomie DePaola - www.tomie.com - Coloring pages, illustrated calendars and information about the author illustrator are the highlights of this site.

Lois Elhert - www.loiselhert - Information and chapter previews of many of this illustrator's works.

Mem Fox - www.memfox.net - A very nicely organized site all about the author/illustrator, including clips of her reading some of her books.

Eric Hill - To have lots of fun with Spot, try http://www.funwithspot.com/house.asp?locale=US . To learn more about the man who created Spot, try http://www.penguinputnam.com/static/packages/us/yreaders/Spot/bio.htm

Kevin Henkes -- http://www.kevinhenkes.com / -- Information about the author of Lily's Purple Plastic Purse and other books.

Mick Inkpen - Visit http://www.jubileebooks.co.uk/jubilee/magazine/authors/mick_inkpen/inkpen.asp and you'll find information about this author/illustrator. Visit http://www.hitentertainment.com/kipper/index2.html to play with Kipper and his friends.

Ezra Jack Keats -- http://www.ezra-jack-keats.org/ -- Designed for grown-ups, this site has information about Keats himself, as well as his characters, and information about his charitable foundation and book award.

Back to Fun and Games

Steven Kellogg -- http://www.stevenkellogg.com/ -- The homepage of this talented author/illustrator.

Leo Lionni -- http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/author/llionni.html -- A biography and list of books by the author of Swimmy and Frederick.

Jane Belk Moncure -- http://www.janebelkmoncure.com/ -- The official website of the prolific children's author, with information on her many series of picture books.

Robert Munsch -- http://www.robertmunsch.com/ -- A very cool website about the author of Stephanie's Ponytail and Love You Forever. It includes a virtual storytime, where you can hear the author read some of his books.

Laura Numeroff -- http://www.lauranumeroff.com/ -- Coloring pages, games and information from the author of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie and many other fun books .

Patricia Polacco -- http://www.patriciapolacco.com/ -- Get puzzles, bookmarks, color-ins and more fun stuff, as well as information about the author/illustrator at this nifty website.

Peggy Rathmann - www.peggyrathmann.com - Oficial site of the author of Officer Buckle and Gloria, and Goodnight, Gorilla. For some fun hamster related fun, try http://www.hamstertours.com/ .

H.A. Rey -- http://www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/features/cgsite/ -- Information about the author and his most famous creation, Curious George!

Robert San Souci -- http://www.rsansouci.com/index.htm -- Lots of information and some fun links from this author/illustrator.

Maurice Sendak -- http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-sendak-maurice.asp -- A biography of one of the best knownauthors and illustrators of children's books in the world.

Dr. Seuss - www.seussville.com - Games and more based on the World of Dr. Seuss.

Chris Van Allsburg -- http://www.chrisvanallsburg.com/home.html -- Information about the author of The Polar Express and Jumanji, as well as games and other fun stuff.

David Weisner -- http://www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/authors/wiesner/home.html -- Official publisher's website for the author of Tuesday and Sector 7.

Walter Wick -- http://www.walterwick.com/bio/bio_main.html is the place to visit for info about the photographer behind the I Spy books. To play I Spy Online, try http://www.scholastic.com/ispy/ .

Back to Fun and Games

 

 

 

 
 


© 2003 Glendale Public Library, all rights reserved.